but, mom — a spoken word poem

 

i am the water in the ocean next to the shore

next to the forest next to you

you, mom, are the fire in the forest next to the shore

next to the ocean next to me

 

when it comes to crashing and burning, mom,

you burn (sky high) and i crash (into your side)

because the smoke from your cigarettes clouds my lungs

and yours and we’re too busy coughing to begin listening

 

we don’t meet, mom, we collide and my waves are not big

enough to reach you (yet) but trust me when i say they will

and when they do, the steam blowing out of your ears

and stinging my eyes will cover the proud smile you’d rather hide

 

mom, i think the thing you are is afraid

of me waving goodbye and heading off to sea

to see what will wave back at me

your flame burns so brightly to hide the fact you’re insecure

that your idea of you and me will no longer stand to be.

 

but, mom, i can’t really stay mad at a fire that

burns as bright as you

because that was the same light that you

read me bedtimes story to.

 

but, mom, i cannot even compare a fire

to the warmth that comes from your smile

and, as cliches as this sounds, i know your arms will always be

here for me if i need unconditional love once in a while.

 

and most important of all, mom,

is that you taught the waves

storming through my head

how to rock themselves to sleep instead.

 

what i want to say, mom, is that i

will end up leaving this home shore someday

but please don’t ever begin to think

that forever is how long i plan to be away.

 

because, mom, i know you’ll miss the gentleness of my waves

as much as i’ll miss the burning love of your heart

and it seems like chaos whenever we collide

but, mom, you are a light in my life that is almost unbearably bright

from it, i could never really be apart.

 

because, mom, waves like me will always come back to shore.


 This poem, quite obviously, is dedicated to my mom. It is written as a spoken word, and has been performed as such. Thank you for taking the time to read.

claire b.

pic credit: huffington post

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *