autumn — a poem

leaves crunch as i step

how can death be beautiful?

through these hues of red.

a door is closed, now

it is slammed and it echoes

in hallways of orange.

the wind whispers in

pitches from falsetto to

a deep golden bass.

the trees are trembling

with the leaping bodies of

squirrels and birds and

my contentness lives.

it lives through the crisp smell of

earth and life and death

the sight of crimson

leaves crushed underfoot and the

scent of cinnamon

i am lifted up

above my worries and in

to loving pale skies

these skies that are the

opposite of my

raging love struck heart

fires do not burn here

they fester and bloom like the

flowers of the past

i live through autumn

and as death may take a hold

i am still content.


 

This haiku is a season-led piece that I have written based on the movement from the world around me. Fall is my favourite season, and I have always been inspired to simply write about it, the emotions it brings forth from me and the simple beauty it brings to my life. The shades of crimson, and orange, and gold are a pallet of warmth that I can dip my fingers in and smear about until it creates something truly beautiful. That is one of the main words that comes to mind when I think of autumn – warmth. Warmth and comfort, from the shades that surround us, to the sweaters we wear to heat up cool palms, to the hot drinks we sip on while thoughts and emotions grow and grow. Warmth is found in the conversations we have with friends, the books we absorb ourselves in to, the lifestyle we choose to pursue and simply live in for the rest of the year. I am comfortable in autumn, and it always brings me great joy whenever it appears annually. That was the intent of this piece – to acknowledge the harsh beauty of this season, how we can see long-dead leaves as beautiful blankets that litter the ground, how blazing earthly colours merge with pale airy hues and create a storm of contrasting feelings. Autumn for me, simply, is life and death and warmth and comfort rolled up in to a sea of blazing passionate hues.


The above post was inspired by our class visits to the river.

claire b.

pic credit: happy-pumpkin-season

4 thoughts on “autumn — a poem

  1. Dear Claire,
    This piece was nothing but pleasant to read. The description of Autumn was extremely vivid, and with only a few words you captured this season flawlessly. I have never been fond of this particular season however, after reading this poem I was able to appreciate the items you had mentioned. You touched on several of the scenes which helped your piece to strengthen.

    In the future I would recommend that in your description to broaden your selection of vocabulary. It became a little repetitive at the end, overall this piece was amazing!

    Sincerely, Asna.A

    1. Dear Asna,

      Thank you very much for your kind words! To know that I improved your thoughts of autumn in some way really brightened up my day, and I’m glad you can see the benefits to different things you might not have necessarily liked before.
      I’ll make sure to keep your comment in mind, and be wary of too much repetition in the future.

      With love,
      Claire

  2. Dear Claire,
    I am absolutely awed by your writing, your descriptions are so beautifully incorporated into this piece which make them flow even better. I can feel your immense love for this season as I read through this and although I do not really consider autumn as my number one favorite season, your depiction of fall it has made me look at it in a different way.

    Referring to Asna’s comment, I agree that you did reuse some words towards the end of the piece but I figure it is because you were running out of new things to add in so try not to make subjects similar to one another. There’s nothing really else I think you need to improve on so, keep on being the amazing writer you are!

    1. Dear Faith,

      Your comment made me very happy – thank you for such kind words. I am truly glad my piece made you think of autumn in a new way, as that is one of the main reasons for my writing – to bring new thoughts and perspectives in to the mind of others.
      Once more, I’ll keep in mind your words about repetition in regards to my future pieces.

      Thank you so much!

      With love,
      Claire

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *